Georgetown County Environmental Services Division

Department Functions:

The Recycling and Collections division functions as a component of Georgetown County Environmental Services, providing citizens with a convenient means of recycling and solid waste disposal. The Recycling and Collections division has 14 manned convenience centers throughout the county. Each center provides containers for recycling of newspaper, plastic, cardboard, yard waste, bulk waste, waste tires, used oil, glass, scrap metal, aluminum, steel cans, cooking oil and batteries. These facilities collect approximately 14,000 tons of recyclables per year. The county also has an Environmental Education Center and Nature Center located at its landfill. These are avenues for community outreach, offering opportunities for residents, students and organizations within the county to learn about environmental issues, department programs and local wildlife.

Georgetown County’s Electronic Waste Centralized Collection Facility is located at the Landfill on Highway 51. Hours of operation are 7:30 a.m. – 5 p.m. Monday through Friday and 8:00 a. m. – 4 p.m. on Saturdays. Materials accepted include: Computers, VCRs, radios, copiers, scanners, printers, mobile phones, cable boxes, monitors and televisions. Electronic Waste is also accepted at the Murrells Inlet, Pawley’s Island, Johnson Road, Andrews, Sampit, and Pleasant Hill convenience centers during normal operating hours.

Georgetown County’s Household Hazardous Waste Facility is located at the Landfill Convenience Center on Highway 51. The hours of operation are 7:30 a.m. – 5 p.m. Monday through Friday and 8 a.m. – 4 p.m. on Saturdays. Materials accepted include: Paint products, cleaning products, lawn and garden care materials (pesticides, fertilizers, etc.), automotive products and other miscellaneous products. Materials NOT accepted include: radioactive material, bio-hazardous or medical waste, explosives, ammunition, propane cylinders larger than 16.4 oz. and asbestos.

Georgetown County offers a free paper, and cardboard recycling program for businesses. The program provides businesses in the County with recycling containers that are picked up via recycling truck route weekly. While the commercial recycling program is currently full, please express your interest by filling out the application form linked below. You may email the form to Alex Litz, fax to (843) 545.3483, or mail application to: Georgetown County, Department of Public Services, Division of Environmental Services, P.O. Drawer 421270, Georgetown, S.C. 29440.

Georgetown County offers a construction and demolition debris “swap shop.” Call (843) 545-3443 for more information.

Funded by